Worship

The ability to worship in spirit and in truth is so hard at the moment, the concentrated focus with gratitude on the Cross of Christ Jesus where all our needs were met and everyone of us was empowered to become an Overcomer.

Revelations 12:11 And they overcame and conquered him because of the blood of the Lamb and because of the word of their testimony, for they did not love their life and renounce their faith even when faced with death.”

503I remember being in a lovely chapel associated with Teen Challenge and rejoicing in the worship of the people who had true hearts of love and thankfulness towards our Lord and rejoiced in Him alone. In the congregation where a couple who had lost their son in a drowning accident who had been elders in the previous church I had been connected too. For some reason out of their suffering they assumed they had greater wisdom than any0ne else on earth and regularly “watched” those that they considered to be a part of their lives to the point that theirs was the only wisdom that was needed. Unfortunately they had fast rules about worshipping God and instead of just worshipping Him they looked for fault and cursed the worship team down to their ideas, the outcome was that they destroyed them and out of that the church itself disbanded. When talking to them after I found that this was the pattern of them for every church they entered, they destroyed or mutilated them out of false superior judgement. If you want to improve the worship in a church, just worship God and He will do the rest, the songs they did not enjoy where out of an organisation called Hillsong which has been known for anointed worship around the world for years. There are a few pitfalls with being gifted, the first and foremost is the one where God would not do anything without your help and permission and your wisdom is the greatest on earth. The worship team where marvellous even though I am not a promoter of a band up front leading us, I believe the Holy Spirit should be in charge, and when I am in worship I rarely notice the band anyway, I am focused on Christ Jesus. Years earlier as a new Christian I found myself being distracted by everything and everyone and found my mind talk more on things like, wow she has a beautiful voice, or that trumpet missed a note, or did I put my deodorant on this morning and if I didn’t should I raise my hands in submission and joy in the Lord and His Lordship? Humbly I came before my God and shared that I know I am created to worship You and pour out my thanks to You in Reverence and Fear, but I lack the

Shout to the North and the South, Sing to the East and the West, Jesus is Saviour to all, Lord of heaven and earth

wisdom to do so, then in accordance with the  James 1:5   If any of you lacks wisdom[to guide him through a decision or circumstance], he is to ask of [our benevolent] God, who gives to everyone generously and without rebuke or blame, and it will be given to him. I asked Him who is the source of all wisdom, what was the solution that He gave me? Imagine with your minds eye a throne with Jesus Christ on it, high and lifted up, how do you feel towards Him who has purchased you with the shedding of His blood, who voluntarily gave Himself up to sin – He who knew none, and allow all that gratitude, awe at what He had done, thanksgiving, rejoicing in His goodness and mercy towards you and me, sinners He paid the price for just for our receiving it, grace to enter in to His presence in spite of the stench of sin that comes with us on this earth. As I saw myself at the threshold of the throne room I said, I am not worthy Lord to come into Your presence, He replied in my heart, if you refuse then you negate and lay to waste all that I did on that Cross, it was His worth that allowed me in, not mine. How wonderful is that, such a joyous statement, nothing I can do can make me worthy of salvation, just humbly receive from Him His completed works, no one higher no one lower. Just to be humble enough to receive … or not … This is how we worship in spirit and in truth, in humility. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

